Borussia Mönchengladbach: DFB Cup Draw – Possible opponents

German FA Cup draw on Sunday
Possible opponents of Borussia in the first round

On Sunday, the draw will determine who will meet Borussia Monchengladbach in the first round of the DFB Cup. 63 of 64 participants were confirmed. We show which opponents Gladbach expects.

It is not yet officially clear who will be the new coach at Borussia Mönchengladbach. However, it will be clear on Sunday who will meet Addie Hutter’s successor in his first competitive match as new Gladbach coach in about two months’ time. 63 of the 64 DFB Cup participants are known so far, and the last place to be awarded is reserved for the champion of Oberliga Westfalen, which has not yet been determined.

As always, five wins are needed in the 2022/23 Cup season to reach the final at the Berlin Olympic Stadium in June 2023. Borussia Mönchengladbach lost last season to Hannover 96 after beating 1. FC Kaiserslautern 1-0 and beat Bayern Munich 5-0 in the round of 16. In the end, RB Leipzig took the title.

An overview of the participants in the DFB Cup 2022/23

  • 1. FC Köln
  • 1.FSV Mainz 05
  • 1. FC Union Berlin
  • Bayer Leverkusen
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Borussia Monchengladbach
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • Augsburg
  • Bayern Munich
  • Schalke 04
  • Hertha Berlin
  • RB Leipzig
  • SC Freiburg
  • TSG Hoffenheim
  • VFP Stuttgart
  • VFL Bochum
  • Wolfsburg VFL
  • Werder Bremen
  • 1 FC Heidenheim
  • 1 FC Kaiserslautern
  • 1 FC Magdeburg
  • 1. FC Nuremberg
  • Armenia Bielefeld
  • Eintracht Braunschweig
  • FC St. Pauli
  • Fortuna Dusseldorf
  • Hamburger SV
  • Hannover 96
  • Hansa Rostock
  • Holstein Kiel
  • Karlsruhe SC
  • SC Paderborn
  • Jan Regensburg
  • SpVgg Greuter Fuerth
  • SV Darmstadt 98
  • SV Sandhausen
  • 1860 Munich
  • Dynamo Dresden
  • Erzgebirge Aue
  • Ingolstadt
  • SpVgg Bayreuth (Bavaria Regional Champion)
  • SV Elversberg (Saarland Cup winner)
  • Victoria Cologne (Middle Rhine Cup winner)
  • Waldhof Mannheim (Baden Cup winner)
  • PSV Rieden (Lower Saxony Cup winner)
  • Carl Zeiss Jena (Thuringia Cup winner)
  • Chemnitzer (Saxony Cup champion)
  • Energy Cottbus (Brandenburg Cup winner)
  • FV Ellertissen (Bavaria Cup Champion)
  • Kickers Offenbach (Hessen Cup Champion)
  • SV Rodinghausen (Westphalia Cup winner)
  • SV Straline (Niederrhine Cup winner)
  • Teutonia Ottensen (Hamburg Cup winner)
  • Victoria Berlin (Berlin Cup winner)
  • VFB Lübeck (Schleswig-Holstein Cup winner)
  • Blau Weiss Lone (Lower Saxony Cup winner)
  • Bremer SV (Bremen Cup winner)
  • FC Unity Wernigerode (reached the Saxony-Anhalt State Cup final because Magdeburg was already qualified as an opponent)
  • FV Engers (Rheinland Cup winner)
  • SV Oberachern (South Baden Cup winner)
  • Stuttgarter Kickers (Württemberg Cup winner)
  • TSG Noestrelets (Mecklenburg-West Pomerania Cup winner)
  • TSV Shot Mainz (Southwest Cup winner)

  • Oberliga Westfalen Champion

Who can meet Borussia Mönchengladbach?
The tickets for the 18 Bundesliga teams and the 14 best-ranked second-division teams from last season are included in the first draw – so Borussia cannot face these teams in the first round of the cup. In addition to the amateur teams, the second lottery pot contains attractive combinations that can give Borussia a difficult task in the first round: it includes the second division relegation and the best four teams in the third division.

As a result, Gladbach could meet with Dynamo Dresden, Erzberg Oe, FC Ingolstadt, 1. FC Magdeburg, Eintracht Braunschweig or 1860 Munich. As in the previous season, a duel with 1. FC Kaiserslautern can also be held in the first round. The confrontation with SV Straelen, winner of the Lower Rhine Cup, will also have the feel of a Borussia derby.

When will the DFB Cup draw take place?
The draw for the first round of the DFB Cup will take place next Sunday (29 May) in the framework of the ARD “Sportschau” competition. Broadcast starts at 7:15 PM.

Who will draw in the first round of the German Federation Cup?
In addition to DFB President Bernd Neuendorf, world champion Kevin Grosskreutz will play “Losvi”.

When will the German Federation Cup matches take place?
As usual, the German FA Cup officially opens the 2022/23 competitive season. The first main round takes place from July 30 to August 1. However, exact dates will not be announced until ten to twelve days after the draw.

When will the German Federation Cup final be held?

  • First round: July 30 to August 1, 2022
  • Second round: October 18/19, 2022
  • Round of 16: Jan 31/1 Jan Feb 7/8. February 2023
  • Quarter-finals: 4/5 April
  • Semi-finals: 2/3 May 2023
  • Final: June 3, 2023

Here is the photo gallery: Borussia has scored in the FA Cup since 1970

Leave a Comment