Montmeló FP1: Best time for Rins (Suzuki) – 23 Bradl / MotoGP

Alex Rins dominated Suzuki for the first free practice session of the Catalonia GP. Marquez’s replacement Stefan Bradel did not pass 23rd place.

The ninth MotoGP event will take place at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya without six-time MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez, with Stefan Bradel taking his place on the Repsol Honda factory team. The best motorcycle racing time was set by World Champion Fabio Quartararo in 2021 at 1:38,853 (= 169.5 km/h). However, he lost last year’s race against Oliveira because he had to slow down due to a zip break, and went back to P6.

In the opening minutes of the FP1’s 45-minute race on the 4.657km circuit (eight right-handed, six left and 1,047km straight), Joan Mir sat on a Suzuki GSX-RR with a score of 1; 41.215 minutes to the top ahead of Aleix Espargaró (+0.091 seconds), Quartararo, Oliveira and Nakagami. Also: Bender 15th, KTM, + Bradell 16th, Honda, was just 1.409sec behind.

Alex Espargaro set the next best time of 1:40.745 minutes. Nakagami is now 0.123sec back in second place. 3 – Oliveira. 4. I. 5. Morbidly. After that, Franco Morbidelli took first place with the monster Yamaha with a time of 1: 40.695 minutes, the temperature of the asphalt was already 35 degrees.

By the way: Last year Michelin still had asymmetrical tires for medium and soft vehicles at the front, this year only the symmetric front tires in allotment.

At Camp Honda, it was noted that Marc Marquez’s new swingarm chassis is now in Bradlee’s pits. Paul Espargaro didn’t understand it, which is a clear indication that his days at HRC are numbered and that Joan Mir will be racing there in 2023. Before the rebranding, Pol shouldn’t be given any insight into HRC’s development parts. On the other hand, Takaki Nakagami is supposed to test this new structure by Monday at the latest. This is also an indication that he might return to the Honda lineup in 2023. After all, he finished eighth at Mugello and was the best Honda driver.

Franco Morbidelli has only had five points in his last six grands prix, but his best time was still holding after 20 of the 45 minutes.

After 25 minutes, Morbidelli was still in pole position, ahead of Aleix Espargaró, Rins, Nakagami and Viñales. 6. Oliveira, KTM, +0.206sec 7. Mir. 8. Paul Espargaro, Honda +0.322. 9. Bastianini. 10- Zarco +0.354,600. – Also: 13. B Bender, KTM, +0.463sec 16. Miller, Ducati, +0.585sec 21. Alex Marquez, Honda, +1.150sec 22. Bradle, +1.187sec.

He finished 12th in the world championship and Repsol Honda driver Paul Espargaro, who went to school 3km from the track and crashed poorly in Mugello in the race at the corner of Arabiatta 2, finished third after just 30 minutes, was now lying 0.038 seconds behind Morbidelli And just 0.025 seconds behind Brother Alix in Aprilia.

With ten minutes left in FP1, Morbidelli was still in P1 but now the search for times started.

Spotlight for Suzuki: Mir IV. 8. Rinse. The duo Suzuki has not reached the podium since Texas two months ago!

Then Jorge Martin, 15th in the world championships, fell into the second turn, first left after a string of right-handers.

Then Alex Rins at Factory Suzuki set a new best time of 1:40.631 minutes, with five minutes still to go. Rins got new tyres, a number of colleagues finished the session with used tyres. Then the rinse warmed up to 1:40.101 min 23. Bradle, +1.781 sec.

FP1 Result, Montmelo, 3rd June

1. Rins, Suzuki, 1:40, 101
2. Vinales, Aprilia +0.483
3. Morbidelli, Yamaha, +0.594 seconds

4. Alex Espargaro, Aprilia, +0.607
5. Paul Espargaro, Honda +0.632
6. Taka Nakagami, Honda +0.767
7. Alex Marquez – Honda +0.771
8. Miguel Oliveira, KTM +0.800
9. Joan Mir, Suzuki +0.806
10. Enea Bastianini, Ducati +0.930
11- Johann Zarco, Ducati +0.948
12. Raul Fernandez, KTM, +0.982
13- Fabio Quartararo, Yamaha +1.003
14. Pico Bagnaia, Ducati +1.004
15. Brad Bender, KTM, +1,056.00
16. Marco Pizzi, Ducati +1,113
17- Luca Marini, Ducati +1,142
18. Jack Miller, Ducati, +1.179
19. Fabio Di Giannatonio, Ducati +1,212
20- Jorge Martin, Ducati +1,219
21. Remy Gardner, KTM, +1.229
22. Andrea Dovizioso, Yamaha, +1.357
23- Stefan Bradel, Honda, +1.781
24. Darren Bender, Yamaha, +1,833
25- Michele Perot, Ducati, +1,879

Moto3 FP1 result, Montmelo:

1. Guevara, Gas Gas, 1: 48.675 minutes
2. Holgado, KTM, +0.195sec
3. Fujia, Honda +0.287
4. Macia, KTM, +0.303
5. Suzuki – Honda +0.406
6. Mineo, Honda +0.513
7. Garcia – Gas Gas +0.717.717.00
8. Tatay, CFMOTO +0.776
9. Munoz, KTM, +0.793
10. Toba, KTM, +0.841

Leave a Comment